Do you have a question? Post it now! No Registration Necessary. Now with pictures!
January 23, 2008, 9:02 pm
rate this thread
Re: web editor for team project
From Dreamweaver Help:
If you're working in a collaborative environment, you can check files
in and out from local and remote servers. If you're the only person
working on the remote server, you can use the Put and Get commands
without checking files in or out.
Note: You can use Get and Put functionality with a testing server, but
you cannot use the Check In/ Check Out system with a testing server.
Checking out a file is the equivalent of declaring "I'm working on
this file now--don't touch it!" When a file is checked out, the name of
the person who checked out the file is displayed in the Files panel,
along with a red check mark (if a team member checked out the file) or
green check mark (if you checked out the file) next to the file's
Checking in a file makes the file available for other team members to
check out and edit. When you check in a file after editing it, your
local version becomes read-only and a lock symbol appears beside the
file in the Files panel to prevent you from making changes to the
Dreamweaver does not make checked-out files read-only on the remote
server. If you transfer files with an application other than
Dreamweaver, you can overwrite checked-out files. However, in
applications other than Dreamweaver, the LCK file is visible next to
the checked-out file in the file hierarchy to help prevent such
For more information on LCK files and how the Check In/Check Out
system works, see TechNote 15447 on the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/go/15447.