Possible infection by malware?

Do you have a question? Post it now! No Registration Necessary.  Now with pictures!

Threaded View
The Proxomitron reports that it has blocked the following addresses.
Using "whois" I came up with the following:

Abovenet Communications, Inc ABOVENET-6 (NET-208-184-0-0-1)
EZULA/KABANGA MFN-B423-208-185-211-64-27 (NET-208-185-211-64-1)

United Layer, Inc. UNITEDLAYER-1 (NET-209-237-224-0-1)
Alexa Internet ALEXA-INTERNET (NET-209-237-237-0-1)

Would this show an infection or trojan?  I've run a scan using AdAware
and Spyblaster and neither show any spyware present, yet Proxomitorn
keeps stopping access to these sites.  Anyone got any suggestions?

Peter James
Remove AT to reply

Re: Possible infection by malware?

In the Usenet newsgroup comp.security.misc, in article

Quoted text here. Click to load it

Why is software that you installed trying to connect to those addresses?

Quoted text here. Click to load it

Someone with the handle of "Yosponge" posts a list of sites and addresses
to be concerned with. See the Usenet newsgroup 'alt.privacy.spyware'  and
http://www.geocities.com/yosponge/blockips.txt .   The
and address ranges show up on the lists.

Quoted text here. Click to load it

One would normally ask why you installed whatever software it is that
contains this malware, but it's your computer, not mine. Some software
you thought was interesting, or that some web site offered to install
for you is (as usual) infected.  Happens all the time, which is why there
is a huge market for anti-malware products.

Quoted text here. Click to load it


        Old guy

Site Timeline