OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

Do you have a question? Post it now! No Registration Necessary.  Now with pictures!

Threaded View
I'm seeing more and more ads embedded in web pages that generate
a sort of pop-up Flash movie.  They are triggered by MouseOver
events - but located on the page so that not triggering them is
almost impossible, even when trying.

Here's a screen snap of such a page: http://tinyurl.com/8lhoskj

Doesn't seem to fit my definition of "Pop-Up" bc, technically, it
is triggered by an explicit action of the user.

But the bottom line is about the same - and quite irritating.


What is the term-of-art for these little nasties and is there
something that will block them - either generically or on an
ad-by-ad basis?  (short of uninstalling FlashPlayer, that is...)

Pete Cresswell

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

On Thu, 23 Aug 2012 09:10:21 -0400, "(PeteCresswell)"

Quoted text here. Click to load it
What's the URL?

Quoted text here. Click to load it

You don't have to uninstall FlashPlayer - just disable it. I have
it disabled all the time except when there is something I
particularly want to view.



Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

nomail@hotmail.com wrote:
Quoted text here. Click to load it

Yes, I'd like to see the URL as well.

Quoted text here. Click to load it

Not even that.

Probably a few entries in your hosts file will do the job.

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

Per nomail@hotmail.com:
Quoted text here. Click to load it

Mea Culpa....

Pete Cresswell

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

"(PeteCresswell)" wrote:

Quoted text here. Click to load it

That site is riddled with links to all sorts of ad-ware garbage.

Add the following to your hosts file:


All of the above are definately being linked to on the findgrave page.
Of those, I already had all of them in my hosts file except for
ads.adnxs.com.  I have now added it.


I'm not sure if those are also being linked, but they show up in my
router's out-going logs when I turn off my hosts file.  They are all
garbage and should also be included in your hosts file.  Of those, I did
not have 3 of them - but I do now.

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

Per Virus Guy:
Quoted text here. Click to load it

That site might have been a poor choice on my part.

What I'm finding is that somebody behind Romney is buying (links?
I don't know the proper term....)  on various web pages.   That
particular one just happened tb one that I opened bco a forum
post about somebody's passing away.

But that particular ad pops on quite a few sites that I've been

Do you know which of the above is the culprit?
Pete Cresswell

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

"(PeteCresswell)" wrote:

Quoted text here. Click to load it

First, I've done a more detailed analysis on that page and I'm
reasonably certain that it's accessing all of the following domains (see
below).  This is a very dynamic web-site.  It was only after loading
this page MANY times was I able to put together this list.

Basically, when some of these domains are blocked, others appear for the
first time.  The server is dynamically responding to situations where
the user has blocked some domains.

I believe that the following are the prime candidates for determining is
ultimately (or firstly) responsible for what you're seeing in the two ad
locations on that page (the top banner, and the banner on the lower
left-hand side).  


If those are blocked, then the server responds by resorting to using
google, doubleclick, tribalfusion, pubmatic.com (but only 1 at a time)


The flash files that is being served in those 2 positions are being
hosted here:


But not simultaneously.  They are either alternating the source, or one
takes over if the other is blocked.

Also note that because of IP-geo-profiling, I could be seeing a
different set of these ad-serving and metrics-tracking domains than you
are (because I am not located in the USA).

The site is also accessing pixel.quantserve.com and burstnet.com quite a
bit, but I don't think they're involved in the advertising chain.

So the most minimal set of domains that, if blocked, result in NO
advertizing showing up on that page is:   advert.olivebrandresponse.com   b.collective-media.net   pagead2.googlesyndication.com   ad.doubleclick.net   a.tribalfusion.com   cdnx.tribalfusion.com   ads.pubmatic.com   cdn.fastclick.net

Unless you're seeing a completely different set of ad-serving domains in
the US compared to where I am (Canada), your Romney ads are most likely
being served by olivebrandresponse.com.

And now, after I say that, I do a little background check on
olivebrandresponse, and I find that they're a Canadian marketing outfit
(Olive brands).  Duh.

So I'd have to use a US-based proxy in order to see what entities are
serving up your Romney ads.

So here, just for completeness, are all the domains that I've seen while
interactively blocking and re-loading that web-page:   localhost   cdn.adnxs.com   ds.serving-sys.com   s0.2mdn.net   googleads.g.doubleclick.net   p7.raasnet.com   s7.addthis.com   c.betrad.com   pixel.quantserve.com   www.burstnet.com   ad.afy11.net   bcp.crwdcntrl.net   sync.mathtag.com   image2.pubmatic.com   pcm1.map.pulsemgr.com   t.mookie1.com   advert.olivebrandresponse.com   ac.d.chango.com   tags.bluekai.com   ads.adnxs.com   voken.eyereturn.com   a.tribalfusion.com   cdnx.tribalfusion.com   tag.admeld.com   ib.adnxs.com   tags.expo9.exponential.com   ak1.abmr.net   cdn.fastclick.net   cms.quantserve.com   b.scorecardresearch.com   loadm.exelator.com   b.collective-media.net   ad.doubleclick.net   aud.pubmatic.com   cm.g.doubleclick.net   pixel.rubiconproject.com   www.google-analytics.com   www.adadvisor.net   pagead2.googlesyndication.com   www.googleadservices.com   ads.pubmatic.com   showads.pubmatic.com   ad.yieldmanager.com   adadvisor.net

This is why the WWW is being a pile of shit.

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

Virus Guy wrote:

Quoted text here. Click to load it

Because it has been appropriated by "Mad Men".

(I refuse to watch it.)

Nah-ah. I'm staying out of this. ... Now, here's my opinion.

Re: OT? Romny "Rollover" Ads?

(PeteCresswell) explained on 8/24/2012 :
Quoted text here. Click to load it

Each ad-server rotates through many ads. Some sites (like this one)
also rotate through several ad-servers.

Site Timeline