|
Posted by Nicole on May 19, 2005, 11:10 am
Please log in for more thread options
Hello,
my email address nicolina888@yahoo.it has been utilized by
someone with fraudulent intentions to create an eBay.com
and a PayPal.com account. This individual also uses these
fraudulent accounts with the mail address phoneseller@yahoo.com.
I use this yahoo.it email account ONLY for posting to usenet
groups and NEVER for eBay or similar type of transactions.
Should you receive offers related to stuff for sale connected
with eBay or other similar companies (paypal, etc.) with mail
address nicolina888@yahoo.it or phoneseller@yahoo.com, it will
be a FRAUD, so please report these instances to the proper
authorities.
Thanks,
Nicole
|
|
Posted by matt on May 19, 2005, 1:38 pm
Please log in for more thread options
Nicole wrote:
> Hello,
>
> my email address nicolina888@yahoo.it has been utilized by
> someone with fraudulent intentions to create an eBay.com
> and a PayPal.com account. This individual also uses these
> fraudulent accounts with the mail address phoneseller@yahoo.com.
>
> I use this yahoo.it email account ONLY for posting to usenet
> groups and NEVER for eBay or similar type of transactions.
>
> Should you receive offers related to stuff for sale connected
> with eBay or other similar companies (paypal, etc.) with mail
> address nicolina888@yahoo.it or phoneseller@yahoo.com, it will
> be a FRAUD, so please report these instances to the proper
> authorities.
>
> Thanks,
> Nicole
I get these, too. Their either phishing scams or infected PCs massing
mailing these. There's not much you can do. If you look at the headers
you'll see the source from where the email came from is different each
time. The headers are being spoofed.
Welcome to the new age of email.
|
|
Posted by Nicole on May 19, 2005, 3:36 pm
Please log in for more thread options I understand what you say, however, it is absolutely unpleasant
to have someone steal your email address - that is, your
usenet identity - and use it to open up accounts with eBay.com
and PayPal.com in order to perpetrate some fraud.
I am very upset about it, and wish to do what I can to stop
these types from using my identity for those purposes.
Nicole
|
|
Posted by secret squiddle on May 19, 2005, 9:27 pm
Please log in for more thread options
> Hello,
>
> my email address nicolina888@yahoo.it has been utilized by
> someone with fraudulent intentions to create an eBay.com
> and a PayPal.com account. This individual also uses these
> fraudulent accounts with the mail address phoneseller@yahoo.com.
>
> I use this yahoo.it email account ONLY for posting to usenet
> groups and NEVER for eBay or similar type of transactions.
>
> Should you receive offers related to stuff for sale connected
> with eBay or other similar companies (paypal, etc.) with mail
> address nicolina888@yahoo.it or phoneseller@yahoo.com, it will
> be a FRAUD, so please report these instances to the proper
> authorities.
>
> Thanks,
> Nicole
Just to be devils advocate for a moment; do you by any chance want to stop
someone using their legit email to conduct perfectly honourable trade? It
would be very easy to claim what you claim, without having to present any
form of evidence.
**SS**
|
|
Posted by Nicole on May 19, 2005, 3:30 pm
Please log in for more thread options
secret squiddle wrote:
> > Hello,
>
> Just to be devils advocate for a moment; do you by any chance want to
stop
> someone using their legit email to conduct perfectly honourable
trade? It
> would be very easy to claim what you claim, without having to present
any
> form of evidence.
>
> **SS**
I understand your concern, and it would occur to me as well.
For those who have any doubts, please feel free to contact
me at nicolina888@yahoo.it and you will receive a reply
from this address confirming what I initially wrote.
Thanks,
Nicole
|
| Similar Threads | Posted | | Staples email to me - Laptop for $700 | December 4, 2006, 8:00 pm |
| Email Scheme and Massive ID Theft | March 1, 2005, 4:27 pm |
| Wireless MAC address filtering | May 26, 2008, 8:18 pm |
| Any recommendation of a free newsreader and email client that is good? | September 8, 2007, 6:47 pm |
| IBM A20m will not release IP address, hardware problem? | June 7, 2006, 8:16 pm |
| WTB: Nortel, Cisco, Juniper, Alcatel, Lucent, Foundry, Extreme, F5 Big IP, Tellabs, Microsoft, Adobe & more. We buy Telecom, Networking and Software. Look below at my current want to buys and email me with any offers that you have. PLEASE LOOK BELOW AT | September 22, 2007, 4:48 pm |
| WTB: Nortel, Cisco, Juniper, Alcatel, Lucent, Foundry, Extreme, F5 Big IP, Tellabs, Microsoft, Adobe & more. We buy Telecom, Networking and Software. Look below at my current want to buys and email me with any offers that you have. PLEASE LOOK BELOW AT | August 26, 2007, 11:44 am |
| WTB: WE BUY USED, REFURB, NEW Nortel, Cisco, Juniper, Alcatel, Lucent, Foundry, Extreme, F5 Big IP, Tellabs, Microsoft, Adobe & more. We buy Telecom, Networking and Software. Look below at my current want to buys and email me with any offers that you hav | August 19, 2007, 7:44 pm |
| Beware Vista ! ! ! | March 19, 2007, 9:56 pm |
| Beware new laptops | June 6, 2008, 4:04 pm |
|